The Dan Gable Mr. Wrestler Top 15 Announced

Fareway Stores, Inc. and Powerade present the Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with IAwrestle and IWCOA.

The IWCOA accepted nominations from high school coaches for student athletes in each of the three state wrestling classes, regardless of their year in school and weight class. A committee selected by the IWCOA recently provided IAwrestle with a list of 15 finalist candidates for public input.

For the first time, fans have the ability to vote once per day for their top wrestler in each class until January 15, where it will be narrowed down to the top 10. Another round of voting will take place to determine the three finalists. The fan votes will count as one vote towards the IWCOA’s committee votes. All finalists will be invited to the season end luncheon gala in late February, where a winner will be announced in each class.

The two runner-up student athletes in each class will each receive finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s